An Open Letter on the Occasion of the Psych Season Premiere

7 08 2009

Dear writers responsible for the bits of trivia on the Psych Countdown Calendar:

I love Psych.  I mean, really: I love that show.  It is hilarious and James Roday and Dulé Hill have awesome chemistry.  In general, you do such a fantastic job with the female characters: both Juliet and Chief Vick are excellent.

So it made me really sad to see this on the “Countdown Calendar” that was on the Psych website in preparation for tonight’s season premiere.

EXHIBIT A: Top Five Facts about Lassiter

Nice fish, Lassie

Nice fish, Lassie

Lassiter gets moderately funny jokes about what he does in his free time.

And what Top Five do we get for Juliet?  Well, check out Exhibit B:

Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot.

Whiskey. Tango. Foxtrot.

Moderately funny jokes about whom Juliet might do in her free time.

PSYCH WRITERS.  LISTEN UP.  I really like Juliet!  I think you’ve done a great job with making her fun and giving her characteristics that are original and non-stereotypical.  I love that she is a great police officer who embraces her femininity, and that her femininity is an asset in her job.  I love that she is both a crack shot and an awesome dancer.  But seriously?  The best you can do for her top five is describe not her, but whom she’d date?  You write such a fantastic character, and then instead of telling us about her top five off-duty activities (which I bet would be just as entertaining, if not more so, than Lassiter’s!) you focus on what kind of man she wants?

I call shenanigans.

I’m still looking forward to the season premiere — I mean, what other procedural has a competent and awesome female police chief?  None that I know of (although I could be wrong; procedurals aren’t generally my cup of tea).  But the fact that I do love the show makes me all the more critical of stuff like this.  Please, please, please, don’t let this be a pattern.

Hugs and kisses,

R.R.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

